Tags

, , , , ,


Yowza. Yesterday was a good day for writing. No wonder people hang around Starbucks all day with their MacBook Airs and Pros. I put down over two thousand words in about an hour and a half. I am pretty close to where I should be.

Tonight, though, will be a killer so I’ll have to make time at lunch today. My Fallout 4 is out for delivery and I’m hoping that it gets delivered before 5pm. Otherwise the gates will be shut and I’ll have to wait until tomorrow. If I get it tonight then I can at least start the download going.

Writing-wise, I didn’t have any problems last night. I just started typing and stuff kept coming out. At the moment, I think my only real problem is looking at the NaNoWriMo site and seeing other people well into the high 20s or low 30s. Why don’t I have that high a word count? Well, my brain knows why and it’s a perfectly reasonable reason. My heart, though, doesn’t understand and feels like it’s slacking off, not working hard enough, not good enough.

That pretty much describes me, I think: Very good, but not good enough. Never quite good enough.

I gave Tooka a walnut the other night. It took all of about a half second for him to crack the shell and start picking out walnut bits. It made me wish that walnuts did not look like brains. Last night I gave him a Brazil nut. It kept him quiet for a long time. I went to bed and when I woke up this morning I changed out his food and water bowls. Just before I left for work I said goodbye to him and noticed he was holding on the Brazil nut with his beak. He even climbed over closer to me still holding it. I have no idea where he kept it all night unless he took it out of the food or water dish before I had a chance to empty them. Now I’m hoping it’s not stuck in his mouth.

Zoey enjoyed some almonds. That I know of. She doesn’t take to things like Tooka does. She’ll wait until nobody is looking before really diving into things. I just know she went after the almonds because I was washing dishes while she was gnawing away.

And that’s my life. In a nutshell.

