Tags

, ,


Two-thousand and forty-one words today. That’s not too bad and it brings me back to being a wee bit higher than the average again. Not very far, considering yesterday was not a good writing day. Today was, being cold and rainy. It would have been better if I had someone to bring me hot chocolate and cookies every once in a while. Or a glass of water. Something. It’s harder than the dickens to train a cat to do those things. Don’t even ask about the birds.

Speaking of cats, Junior decided he was going to have a nap right on my keyboard. He somehow managed to get just the right keys to close Scrivener. Luckily, I had just saved it but I’m beginning to get the idea that my buddy, my good pal, my friend for life, is very much trying to sabotage my writing.

On my character’s travels it appeared that he was going to need a screwdriver. I, too, needed a screwdriver but I required the liquid kind (which also wasn’t delivered to me on the back of a cat so I went without). Anyway, character needed a tool that I neglected to supply him with. I had the choice, then, to go back and give him one. That wouldn’t have made any sense at the time, though. I didnt think of it so, therefore, neither did my character. I could have done the retcon trick and just give it to him and figure out how he got it later. But I opted for the third option: find a way around it.

I’m glad I did because it gave me a chance to think around a problem. And, because it was me thinking, it allowed my character to do something probably disasterous. Because that’s how I think. That’s how I roll. It also didn’t hurt that it bolstered up my word count.

Speaking of which, I’ve passed the 10K mark. Hurray for me!

