Tags

,


Sometime last year someone had asked me to think of a story idea that I could write quickly. I thought of one and said I could write it in about four hours.

After I started working on it (the first part is always done in my head, usually while sitting in traffic) I came to the conclusion that, while I could write something down in four hours, this was an idea that had legs. I put off writing it and kept stacking ideas on to it.

My intention was to use it as a novel for the 2014 NaNoWriMo. Unfortunately, a few days into November my face decided to blow up like a balloon and I ended up bowing out early.

This year I figured I wouldn’t even bother with NaNoWriMo because, Hell yeah, Fallout 4 comes out November 10th. Surely I’d be too busy fighting super mutants and raiders, right?

But… this idea… It calls to me. I thought maybe I could get a head start and write like mad before Nov. 10th. Fifty words in ten days (I say ten because I’m guessing even the physical copies will go through Steam and I’ve yet to ever see a game release before 11pm Pacific time on release day). So, that’s, 5,000 words a day. That may be difficult.

Point is, I think, I may take another stab at it this year.

Problem is, I do science-fiction. And I think it’s hard. Bear with me and if you’ve read this in the past nine years, I apologize.

Go and read a sci-fi book from, oh, the 1960s or 1970s or even the 1980s. Read the descriptions of the technology. Then scoff, because very little is like it was described. Maybe there are computers that take up half the space of a giant star reaching ship. Or information is stored on ‘data cubes.’ Or people swallow a pill to get their daily nutrition. It’s all dated and, in many cases, current technology has soared past what authors thought the future might be like.

Now, I don’t care for hard sci-fi. I want faster than light travel and I don’t care how I get it. I don’t want a quantum physics lecture to get in the way of my space opera.

If I’m writing it, though, I don’t want it to be dated by the time tomorrow comes around. I need to think about my technology, why it works, and, most importantly, how it affects people. How it affects society. I get so busy looking forward that I just plain forget to write things down.

That’s where I’m at right now.
