When people get a bird that mimics human speech they tend to sit around for a long time trying to get them to repeat whatever word or saying people think is cute or funny. Or, in other cases, disgusting and horrible.
     I, on the other hand, tend to pick up the chirps, clicks, and whistles that the birds make. I’m sure they’re amazed that a simple creature without wings can manage to mimic their noises.
     Unfortunately, it’s become a sort of habit. There are times when, say, I’m at work and notice that I’m making odd noises when I’m thinking, or frustrated over something, or see something neat on Amazon or ThinkGeek. It wouldn’t surprise me at all if my co-workers thought I had lost my mind.
     Part of me doesn’t think it’s all that weird. I spend a lot of time with them and, surely, I’m bound to pick up some kind of mannerisms. But then I think of all the people I know who own dogs and think, “I can’t remember the last time they growled at something. Or barked. Or even begged for food.”
     Maybe it is a little odd of me.
