Tags

, , , , ,


When I was a kid it didn’t take much to get the imagination going. Put on a ring with Spider-Man’s face on it and, bam, suddenly I was Spider-Man. Wearing a bucket on my head and carrying a stick suddenly transformed me into a badly equipped astronaut. I imagine this made it easy for marketing people because all they had to do was toss a cheap trinket into a cereal box and then kids would do what marketing people could never do: bug the hell out of parents until they bought whatever it was that had a cheap trinket in it. Because any piece of junk can be a costume to a kid.
A kid can tie a towel around his neck and “fly” around the grocery store. Adults will either look at you in digust and wonder where your parents are or in mild amusement wishing that they, too, were young enough to act like a fool. However, be a six-foot tall man running around Sears waving a sledgehammer over your head yelling, “I will smite thee, in the name of Odin!” and you won’t be doing it for very long. As least, not once the authorities show up.
What you don’t see, then, are media-tie ins targetted towards adults. When the Thor movie came out you didn’t see Stanley have a tie-in with their sledgehammers.

So I was surprised to find something marketed to adults. Now, I don’t know who generally does the cleaning around the house these days (I know it isn’t me): men or women. I suppose it could be evenly split between both genders now, but I have a hard time believing that the advertising people have quite gotten up to understanding that. That means, correct or not, I think most cleaning advertising is pointed at women.
This, then, leads me to believe that women secretely desire to have their house cleaned by small yellow men wearing glasses and speaking gibberish.
I’m referring, of course, to Minions.

Are these Swiffers being marketed to women? To people in general? To adults hoping they can get their kid to sweep up if a Minion is on the package? I have no idea.

