Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Saturday comes around. I’m a bit tired of Ruby and Swift programming. It’s not raining, but it is overcast. Mid-morning comes around and I can’t take it anymore. I pack up the camera and hit the road.
Just for the fun of it, I stopped by the Dodge dealer to see if they have a Hellcat Challenger on the lot. I’d like to get a look at one because I haven’t got a hope in hell of getting one. I get there and a sales guy thought they had one, but it turns out they didn’t. He asked me what I was going to do for the rest of the day.
“Well,” I said, “I had planned on going out to take some pictures but it’s so overcast I don’t know how good it’ll be.”
Warren, the sales guy, gives me one of those sideways looks. “I hear there’s a cold front coming next week.”
“Yeah, I guess that’ll mean more cold and rain.” 
I get another look from Warren, this time with a raised eyebrow. “I hear there’s a cold front coming next week.”
“So, uh, I better get out there and take some pictures?”
“Sounds like a good idea,” he agreed. “Have a good day.”


In the car I go. With no idea of where to go. Various things pop out at me: Crawford, Waco. Okay, just those two things. Oh, and Colorado Bend State Park. None of them are close by. It’s already 10am. I end up doing the worst thing I could possibly do: I35.
Now I don’t know what I35 is like in other states, but around here it’s a turd. Traffic is backed up both ways. On a Saturday. Morning. And somewhere around Salado it’s under construction. It’s always under construction. I don’t think the section from Salado to Temple (if not further north) has ever not been under construction. It wouldn’t surprise me if, when I35 was declared complete, they entirely forgot about this section and never stopped the paychecks. There are probably generations of highway construction workers receiving paychecks that are still being sent to the original crew members.
It was in this traffic, and trying to avoid the numerous pot holes, that I decided to go to Waco just so I could decide to turn around. Turning around wasn’t very easy, what with a lot of the exits being closed and simple turnarounds being full of detours. It was in one of these detours I decided that Crawford might be a good place to go, after all. 
I got as far as Moody before I turned around, again. This time I set the navicomp to Home. It decided to take me through Belton, which looks like quite a pleasant town. So pleasant, in fact, that I found a little park that I turned in to. I took out the camera and took pictures of ducks. And, I think, a goose. And some pigeons. If I hadn’t had to take a leak so badly I would have walked around the town.
As it was, I bid farewell to the ducks and headed south on I35 and headed home. And got stuck in traffic. On a Saturday.
Anyway, I got some pictures of ducks. You can see them all here if you’d like to seem them.

