Tags

, , ,


You know what sucks? Realizing that I kind of need things from the store on a holiday. Luckily it’s not much of a holiday; places should be open at least during the first half of the day. But I don’t really feel like going out. I keep hearing rumors of freezing rain even though the weather outlets don’t seem to go along with that. 
But I went and did it anyway! Good for me. Now I’m set for a few more days without needing to visit the store. That is, until I realize that I need something that I didn’t get when I was out. Like, maybe mustard. Or something.
Amazon has this thing called “Auto Rip.” Say there’s a CD you want. You’re just dying to hear the new… Beiber album? Is that a thing? Well, you buy the CD and Amazon gives you the digital version so you can listen to it right away. In many cases (at least for the music I listen to, which isn’t Beiber) buying the physical CD and getting the digital version that way is cheaper than buying the MP3 album. 
For instance, a Judas Priest CD may cost $5.89 (plus shipping if you don’t have Prime) but the MP3 album may costs $9.99. So, if you buy the physical CD (and have Prime) you’re saving around $4. As a bonus, you can give the CD away to someone as a gift. Which… is probably illegal once you have the MP3s. But, whatever, there you go.
I wish Amazon did this with videos. I’d buy a ton more movies if I could watch it online right away without having to wait for the DVD to show up in my mailbox. 
Right now I’d like to see The Equalizer. I loved the TV show. I don’t know that I’ll love the movie, but I’m a sucker for this kind of thing (for the record, I thought the A-Team movie was pretty good for what it was). Being unemployed, I don’t really want to spend the money but it’s so easy to impulse buy on Amazon I might just do it anyway — if I didn’t have to wait two days for it to show up. 

And now it’s New Year’s Day. I ended up sleeping through most of it. To be fair, I did go to bed at the late, late, hour of 10pm last night.  Anyway, I hope you all have a good upcoming new year.
Mine hasn’t started off to well; I dropped an egg, which seems especially portentous, and then I managed to dump the rest of my beer on the floor. 
Happy New Year!

