Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I am primarily a coffee drinker. I always have been as far back as my memory allows me to go. I remember being warned that drinking coffee at a young age would stunt my growth (it did; I should be 8’4”). I my late teens and early 20s we would go to the diner for coffee after work. I would drink coffee, anyway. I even picked up a reputation and my coffee mug would always be filled whenever it got low.
Going through my cabinets today I noticed I have a lot of tea. Green tea, black tea, chai, English breakfast, Earl Gray, Oolong… All kinds of tea. And they’re all mass market so I can be reasonably sure it’s all the same tea but in different packages. 
Sometimes I feel like drinking something warm. You can probably guess by now that I spent the day making tea. That’s just about as exciting today got. Not that it’s a bad thing, I guess. I’ve actually learned to not complain when things aren’t exciting because you never know when things will become greatly exciting but not in a good way.
But something exciting did happen today! A good excitement. I checked the mail this morning and found a package from Maker’s Mark, the whiskey people. Every holiday they send something goofy, which is reallly nice. Today I got a scarf to go with the sweater and hat I was previously sent. 


All it needs now is a pair of mittens that can be clipped to the sweater. And, maybe, a pair of galoshes. 

I have not updated the blog in a couple of days. Perhaps you are thinking that I am extremely busy at the moment and don’t have time to sit down and write. Were I to say that was the case, I would be telling an anti-truth. It would be a lie so directly opposite to the truth that if the two collided the universe would explode. 
No, it’s been a most dull two days. Maybe three. I’ve lost track of time, you see. The days run together, hours can pass by in minutes or… in hours. It’s like being in a fever dream. All the while, boredom sits on my head and steers me by the ears like a shrieking monkey.
Besides that, everything is hunky-dory. I might have to start drinking my whiskey rather than dressing it up in Christmas clothes. 
I have watched all eleven seasons of Frasier. I started to wonder what the allure of sherry was since it’s a fortified wine. For quite a while I thought fortified wine meant it had extra vitamins in it so it would have to be okay to drink. Like, if I came down with scurvy or something. This is not the case. Being older and, presumably, wiser, I know it has nothing to do with vitamins but, rather, usually adding brandy to it. I also know that sherry and port also belong to the same family as Cisco, Mad Dog 20/20, Night Train, and Thunderbird. I would guess that Frasier wouldn’t be quite the same if they were quaffing down bottles of Wild Irish Rose.
Regardless, now Frasier is done as is How I Met Your Mother. I had looked forward to the ending of HIMYM until I got close to it and realised I already knew what the ending was going to be. 
To remedy my disappointment I have started watching Really Bad Movies on Netflix. Netflix is a treasure trove of movies that should never have been made. Some of them are awful, but fun to watch. Others are just plain awful. You know their going to be bad when the incidental music sounds like it was ripped from a Looney Toons cartoon because that’s the cinema version of a ‘laugh track.’ 
Sometimes, though, they surprise me. Not that they turn out to be better than I thought they would be, but because they managed something I would never have imagined. 
For instance: what movie has Sean Young (Bladerunner, Dune), Treat Williams (1941, The Phantom), Ryan Merman (The Pretender, Pretty Little Liars), John Landis (director of The Blues Brothers, An American Werewolf In London, Twilight Zone: The Movie, Spies Like Us, Three Amigos, Coming to America, etc.), and Ted Raimi (just about any movie directed by Sam Raimi (Army of Darkness, Evil Dead, Spiderman), Seaquest, My Name Is Bruce, and you know what? Just about everything. Ted Raimi is probably somewhere in the background of every movie and TV show since the 1980s)? 
Yes, you are correct: Attack Of The 50ft Cheerleader (in 3D). Granted, Ted Raimi and Treat Williams are somewhat well known but not necessarily for being good. But Sean Young was in Bladerunner. John Landis is John Landis. How did they end up in this movie about a cheerleader  who grows out of her clothes? In the end, the movie isn’t very good unless you like boobs. 
I tend to watch bad fantasy and sci-fi movies. I’m going to guess and say there are equally bad dramas or comedies. I think the rules are different for things like dramas, though; a cheesy sci-fi flick is crap but a cheesy drama is artsy.
Which reminds me: how in the world has it taken me this long to know about Space Truckers? That movie came out in 1996. And it has Dennis Hopper. In the main role, even though he’s barely listed on IMDB for it. Somehow I haven’t heard of this movie until just a couple of months ago. That’s, like… (2014-1996 = …) 18 years I went without knowing about this movie! What other gems have I missed in that time?

