Tags

, ,


I read through the NaNoWriMo forums. Mostly I lurk because I don’t have much to contribute, especially when a thread is already heavily populated. Sometimes I see things that just make me feel sad. Like, reading about people who have significant others that don’t support their NaNoWriMo efforts.
    I suppose that’s one of the advantages of being single. I don’t have to worry about offending anyone with a lack of attention while I try and write something. But, if I had a significant other who was interested in writing for a month, I would be all kinds of supportive about it. I’d be the one bringing in tea or coffee or snacks or whatever. That’s the kind of guy I am. Which, it turns out, is not what women want. The only thing I need to worry about, then, is letting the birds out and making sure they don’t eat the apartment and trying to move my cat off the desk.
    Speaking of Junior, he went above and beyond this morning. I guess at some point during the night I decided to get up, turned off the alarm, and then went back to sleep. Junior woke me up by doing that thing he thinks is a ‘meow’ in my ear and poking me in the eye with his paw. He let me sleep fifteen minutes later than usual so I count that as being ‘on time.’ So I got up, fed him, fed the birds, poured a cup of coffee and headed back to the bedroom. Junior took off in front of me, jumped on the bed, and then onto the desk where he stuck his head in my water glass. The glass was nearly empty so he obviously couldn’t reach it so he took his head out and then stared at me. I took the hint and re-filled the glass from the Brita pitcher and put it in front of him where he merrily slurped up the cold water. I turned on the computer (because it still works) and started going through my morning routine when I heard him meowing pitifully behind me. I turned around and said, “What’s wrong, buddy?” He jumped over to his plastic stick-beehive-honey bee toy, gave it a slap, and then stared at me again. Turns out he wanted to play time early in the morning. It was the least I could do seeing as how I’d be on time for work thanks to him. But, really, I found it surprising that he was so obvious in what he wanted from me.
And there is my excitement for the day.

