Tags

, , , , , ,


I’ve said this before but I’ll go ahead and say it again. This time it’s directed more towards something like Google Glass. I like the idea of Google Glass. In fact, I wouldn’t mind having one if for no other reason than sometimes while I’m driving I see something I’d really like to take a picture of but I can’t stop or can’t pull over or can’t whip out my phone in time to get a picture of it. Tapping the Glass and having it take that picture would be great. But, apparently, this would be against the law. But it would still be neat.

There’s a lot of hatred that people have for Google Glass. Wearing one in public means giving people permission to punch you in the face. Why? Because they don’t want their picture taking and, obviously, if you’re wearing a Glass you’re doing nothing but taking pictures of random people on the street. Because people with cell phones never take pictures of people on the street. Ever. They’re just sending text messages or surfing the web. And there are no security cameras taking pictures, either. And people with cameras? Well, they deserve to be punched in the face too. Because fuck them taking a picture of me. In public. Where I have no expectation of privacy.

In all honesty, I think people like that are morons. If you don’t like it, maybe you shouldn’t go out in public? But that’s not really the point. It wasn’t that long ago (okay, it was but there’s no need to make an issue of it) that people in high school were making fun of me for knowing about computers. This was back in the day when the world was still in black & white and Atari, Apple, and Commodore roamed the Earth. I was called a nerd, a geek, a dork, and other imaginative names. I was picked on and bullied. Today, those same people are walking around with their cell phones, on their laptops, and trying to add me as friends on Facebook.

Amazing, huh? So, I imagine in a few years a lot of people will be walking around with Glass or something comparable and conveniently forgetting that they were threatening to punch people in the face for wearing them. Why? Because a lot of people just plain don’t have brains in their noggins. I’m sorry for being so harsh, but those people deserve it. Not for having a problem with technology that they use everyday, anyway, but because they put themselves out there as being idiots.

I know a lot of people who hate Facebook, too. I’m on Facebook. I don’t love it, but I use it. Hell, I don’t even like it that much. But it serves a purpose for me. One of the common reasons I hear for people not liking Facebook is “because it sucks you in and steals your life.” I haven’t actually noticed  this. I do, however, notice how people stay in all weekend because [sport] is on. Or sitting at the bar with their eyes glued to the TVs because [sport] is on. And they’re going to take their vacation time to go and see [sport]. And did you watch the [sport] game last night? No? Are you some kind of retard because you don’t like [sport]?

Yes. Yes, I am a retard because I don’t live my life cheering on a [sport] team that doesn’t affect my life in any way, shape, or form. I don’t get depressed because my team didn’t win. I am a loser because I didn’t punch some other team lover’s nose when their team won, even though I have no vested interest at all in my own team. This, somehow, makes me a loser.

I have accounts on all social media sites that I’m aware of. Mostly my interest is in the technology that drives the sites. How do they do things differently? What neat-o things do they do with the site? In truth, I don’t use most of them. I look at them for a day or so and then I forget about them. The new MySpace looks neat, but I have no use for it. Therefore, I don’t use it. Pinterest got old pretty quickly. Instagram is kind of a hassle for me. But, to be clear, that’s for my uses and I don’t begrudge anyone for using them. I certainly don’t wish violence upon them for their choices.

And, anyway, I’m universally ignored on almost all social sites. I try and contribute but I mostly get glossed over. Even on question and answer sites. I don’t know how many times I’ve given a correct and usable answer to something, only to be ignored and have someone later give the same answer I did and be enthusiastically thanked. It’s a little disappointing, but I suppose that’s my lot in life.

Hell, this blog is a good example. I’ve been writing here since, what? 2008? I’m lucky to get 10 visitors a day, and I suspect those are web crawlers (sites scraping for search engines). However, if someone else starts a blog and writes, “I cliped my toenails 2day. LOL!” they’re treated like the next Edgar Allan Poe. This means, essentially, that everything I’ve written here in the last six years is less interesting than someone clipping their toenails using bad grammar and worse spelling.

Well, whatever. It would be foolish to dwell on such things and just keep on moving on.

