Tags

, , , , , , ,


Writing

I have been writing all day. All freaking day. And I’m still under 2,000 words written today. This is very disappointing. It would probably be easier if I had some sort of direction to go in, but right now my characters are just ambling along and not doing much of anything. I’m going to bite the bullet and write the… thing. The part of the book where the conflict is resolved. Whatever it’s called. If that doesn’t get me closer to closing this 7,000 word deficit then I’ll probably hang up my writing hat.

Of course, I’m assuming I’m under my 2,000 words. The problem, as I see it, is that I’m using Scrivener on Windows and OS X. The OS X version is friendly and happily tells me that I have [X] number of words in my project.

The Windows version tells me I have [X]-2000 words. And then it cackles, maniacally. I don’t know which one to believe, but if I get anywhere near 50,000 words then I’m going to validate it with the OS X version.

I will not be going out for my customary Saturday dinner, as I will continue to strive towards getting this deficit closed. Those are the kind of sacrifices I’m willing to make. Luckily, I got a nice pep talk by a friend of mine at work. A little encouragement can go a long way.

Amazingly, I wrote a lot. Not anywhere near the amount I need to get any closer to my goal, but it was a lot better than I thought it would be.

 

 

