Tags

, , , , , , ,


Writing

Day 19 finished as a bit of a disappointment. I wrote over 1,000 words during lunch and I thought that was good. I figured it would be easy-peasy to write at least another 1,000 when I got home.

It didn’t work that way, though. I fed the critters, then fed myself, then felt way too tired to write anything. I managed another 300 or so words, but that still kept me way behind.

I need a way to catch up. I’m at the halfway mark with around 25,000 words which, if we’re going to be honest, is incredible for me. I’ve never written that many words for a single story in my life. But it’s not good enough! Not if I don’t want to be a complete and utter failure and not make 50K by the 30th.

So, how can I accomplish this? I thought maybe I could fall back on the trick that parents use to get their kids to do something: a reward! Otherwise known as a bribe.

But what, I thought, could possibly motivate me to write over 2,000 words a day, which is the only way I’m going to catch up? What is one thing I really want but I wouldn’t get in the usual course of things? Something that wouldn’t get me arrested by the vice squad?

An iMac. Yes, my dream is to have an iMac that I could put in my office. No other computer, no TVs, no anything but a chair, a desk, maybe some books, and a single non-game playing computer to do nothing but write (and edit photographs) on.

Why wouldn’t I just get one? Because the stupid thing, the one I would want, clocks in at around $2,500. Only $500 short of a new Mac Pro (but it does come with a monitor, so there is that). So, that’s why I wouldn’t just go out and order one.

And then there’s the problem of me not having an office. I suppose I could turn the den into an office, but I don’t have one of those, either. All I have is a living room and that’s taken up by a couple of birds who don’t like to see me not paying attention to them.

That, then, is out. But I suppose I could tell myself I would get me a new iMac for writing 50K words and then go back on my word. It wouldn’t be a very nice thing to do, but if it got me to 50K words then maybe I would forgive me for being such a lying bastard.

Time is running out and I’m getting desperate, though.

