Tags

, , , , ,


Writing

Current Progress: 10,544 / 50,000

There’s another write-in tonight. It starts at 7pm. I don’t think I’m going to go. I’m just not feeling like it. Plus, I have the animals to take care of. Maybe my first one should be on the weekend, when I have less to worry about. And no work to go to which tires me out.

And… I did not go. I didn’t even go shopping, even though I felt like I really needed to. Of course, after I got home I realized I was out of coffee. Oh, if only I would listen to myself even when I don’t know why I know something.

So, Dungeon Crawl. I’m still working on it. It is difficult, sometimes. The entire project came up because I thought of a funny way for someone to die. I’m not sure why I thought of it, it was just something that came to me as I was driving to work. But I couldn’t just write out that one section. No, I had to work my way up to that spot. After all, it didn’t make any sense out of context to anyone but me.

So I wrote the first partial chapter of Dungeon Crawl thinking it would lead, eventually, to that very spot that I liked. And it did, eventually. I’ve come up with a couple of scenes that I really like in my head and when I write those sections the words flow easily and my word count goes up quickly.

But then there are all the ‘in-between’ parts. It’s like living in the hustle and bustle of New York City and going on a trip to Las Vegas. It’s great when you’re home, it’s great when you get to Sin City, but the drive between can get kind of tedious. Unless you find one of those roadside attractions, like the World’s Largest Toilet Bowl. The secret, I guess, is to just knuckle down and endure the trip, but manage to take side trips as often as possible in case you find something you really like. Sure, that’s a bad analogy, but it feels right.

Now I’m done for the night so I’ll wish you all good night.

 

 

