Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Writing

Progress: 7,068 of 50,000

I’m really tired this morning. I didn’t get to bed until late (well, early, really). And then Junior sat there staring at me until I played with him for a while. I woke up a little later than usual. Thankfully, I had set up the new coffee pot (thanks Mom!) before I went to bed last night so that was ready to rock.

Now I’m at work. I had to leave the world of fantasy behind for a real world of technology that rarely works correctly. I’m kind of sorry I cancelled my vacation for this week. I’m being gracious when I call it a vacation; most of the time I just sit around the apartment getting bored and having nothing to do.

I wish I could bring my laptop to work. It would be easy to spend my lunch hour writing. I suppose I could still do that, it just wouldn’t be in my usual environment. I make use of the ‘cork board’ in Scrivener for making notes about characters and locations (those don’t end up in the word count, sadly).

There are times when I’ll go off the beaten path and write down dialogue or descriptions that don’t have a place to live yet. I’ve been debating if I should count those words when I write them or if I should wait until I have a place to put them. The reasoning is that I may end up not using those snippets at all in the story, so is it fair to count them? I’ll have to think on that.

I reached a point that I was struggling for. The first death of a character. He’s kind of a jerk, but the entire point of his creation was to be the first to snuff it. It was a struggle to get to this point, but I think it’s a fun scene. Fun for me, anyway. Not so much for Steve. Anyway, after that scene started the words just kind of came out and I reached my daily goal without an issue. But, boy, is it hard to write when you’re not writing something you’re kind of happy with.

I’m done for the day and calling it a night.

 

 

