Tags

, , , ,


Writing

Morning

I woke up at 4am. Was it because I was super-excited to start writing? No, it was because I have a cat that likes to eat really early in the morning. He stares at me, or nibbles on my fingers, or licks the palm of my hand, or just keeps poking me in the nose until I wake up and feed him. This is one of the reasons why I’m never late to work due to over-sleeping.

And the first thing I did was fire up a game this morning. Well, okay, not the very first thing. That was feeding the cat. And then there were some other things that people usually do in the morning. But after that, yes, the game came on. Immediately after that the guilt set in. “I’m not awake enough to write yet!” I wailed, internally. That wasn’t true, though. That’s what I like to call ‘an excuse.’

So I shut it down. Opened up the laptop and started writing on a fresh new Scrivener project. So, while I wasn’t able to write 1,666 words before work, I was able to get a decent jump on the project. Writing later tonight might be relatively breezy.

Evening

Or maybe not so breezy. It was a bad day at work. Nothing went right. I get the feeling people are unhappy with me for some unfathomable reason. It was just one of those days, of which I tend to get my fair share. Or more.

After coming home, I fed the birds and the cat and then I fed myself. Afterwards, it was right to work! I typed semi-furiously while watching an episode of MST3K, which is a big no-no. But I did it anyway, because I’m a rebel. It took a while, but I still managed to bring my count up to 1,704 words. Not quite as many as I was hoping for, but at least I breached the average amount. Barely. But I’m weary, and melancholy, and vaguely sad.

Tomorrow is a new day. It’ll probably be mostly boring. I’ve got some errands to run which will probably take up most of it, but at least there’s a Write-In so for a brief period I won’t be completely alone, for a change. It’s generally a sad way to spend a birthday, but I no longer see the point in even acknowledging those anymore. Best just to consider it just another day.

 

 

