Tags

, , , , , , ,


 

And so, Phyllis Diller has died. Not that I knew her, or anything. I knew of her. I’ve probably seen her in movies and on TV. I wasn’t, strictly speaking, a big fan. I suspect that has more to do with circumstances and age more than anything else.

No, the main thing is that it’s another reminder. A reminder of getting older and people that I’m familiar with pass away while movies and TV contain people that I don’t know at all. It’s sad. Especially for me, because I plan on living forever.

But I don’t think it’s unusual to feel sad at the passing of a celebrity. It won’t stop my life, but I remember looking forward to new things by certain stars who will, eventually, move on from their Earthly

For instance: I know that Harrison Ford will pass away at some point. I remember him fondly as Han Solo and looked forward to seeing new movies with him, as long as it wasn’t something like The Mosquito Coast. I’m not saying it was a bad movie (I’ve never seen it) but it wasn’t Star Wars or Indiana Jones.

If you look through IMDB’s trivia section for Star Wars (and, boy, do I love trivia!) there’s a spot there that says Burt Reynolds turned down the role of Han Solo. Can you imagine what kind of world it would be if Burt had taken that? Star Wars would be totally different. Although, I’d pay a lot of money to see Burt as Han if Dom DeLuise had played Chewbacca. How awesome would that have been?

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

HAN SOLO [LOOKING AROUND]: Chewie! Chewie! Where the hell are you?

CHEWBACCA [OUT OF BREATH FROM RUNNING]: I’m here! I’m here, Han!

HAN: You’re late! Where’ve you been?

CHEWIE: I’m so sorry, Han, but my pet grapnock was sick this morning! I couldn’t just leave him, panting on his wheel and everything. I had to find a grapnock sitter.

HAN: A grapnock sitter.

CHEWIE: A grapnock sitter.

HAN [SLAPPING CHEWIE ON THE BACK OF THE HEAD]: We’ve got a Kessle Run to make! I need this ship working and that’s not going to happen if you’re playing with your gripnock.

CHEWIE: Grapnock.

HAN [SLAPPING CHEWIE ON THE BACK OF THE HEAD]: Whatever. Get to work! I want to make the Kessle Run in under 5 parsecs this time.

CHEWIE [WORKING SOMETHING OUT IN HIS HEAD]: Han… A parsec is a unit of distance. How can you make the Kessle Run in under a certain amount of distance?

HAN [SLAPPING CHEWIE ON THE BACK OF THE HEAD]: Don’t argue with me!

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

OBI-WAN: I’m looking for a pilot to take me and this young boy, whom I’ve just met, on a trip across the galaxy. Avoiding the Imperials.

HAN [HOLDING OUT HAND]: I’ll need a fast ship.

OBI [DROPS CREDITS INTO HAN’S HAND]

HAN: A fast ship.

OBI [DROPS MORE CREDITS INTO HAN’S HAND]

HAN: Faster than that.

OBI [DROPS MORE CREDITS INTO HAN’S HAND WITH A DISGUSTED LOOK]

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

DARTH VADER: Breaka, breaka. Ahm looking’ fer the pilot of the Mee-len-eium Falcon.

HAN: You’ve found him, good buddy. What I can do for yourself?

DARTH: Ahm Sith Lord Darth Vader. And you can pull your sorry ass over and give me back that youngster, you rabble-rousing, home wrecking, law breakin’ son of a bitch! You scum-bum!

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

HAN: We’re surrounded by Imperials!

CHEWIE: This is a job for –

HAN [CUTTING OFF CHEWIE]: No it isn’t!

CHEWIE: Admiral Chaos! Tun-tun-DUN!

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Yeah, I think that would’ve been kind of neat.

 

 

