Tags

, ,


Yesterday was quite a day. Not that anything particular happened. In that respect it was just another day. However, I had seen moments of stupidity so tremendous that it very nearly made me go home and hide in bed for fear of my own sanity.

It started off with me actually not knowing what car to take on my run around town. I stood there in the parking lot weighing pros and cons of taking each vehicle. In the end I chose the SUV because I thought I would drop in at home depot and see what kind of patio furniture they had.

I won’t go into too much detail about the ride to Home Depot. Sure, there was a person who wanted to make a left onto a road I was going to make a right onto. And they waited for me to consume the many yards before I reached the intersection. And they waited until I was on the road before making that left and getting into the far right lane. This, despite the fact that there was nobody on the road and they could have gotten into the left lane instead of waiting the five minutes for me to get there. I won’t even go to the person who, twenty seconds after that, pulled out directly in front of me without bothering to hit the gas pedal. Just pure stupidity.

Anyway, in case I need to repeat it, I live in Texas. Central Texas. Unlike the northern parts of Texas we don’t get much snow here. For the most part, the weather is quite clement for about 80% of the year. Which is why I was surprised to learn that patio furniture is something that sells in “seasons.” Unbeknownst to me, every September people are supposed to say, “Well, summer is over! Time to bring in the lawn furniture until next summer!” This is completely new to me because I’ve never known anyone, anywhere, ever put away lawn furniture. Cushions, possibly; but the entire set? No, never. The people I know use their stuff all year round.

I got annoyed by this and thought maybe it was just a Home Depot thing, but evidently Walmart is the same way. Luckily, I found a small set that I could drag up three flights of stairs there, so that ended my great shopping trip.

So, I dragged all that up to my apartment and changed cars to do some shopping. Which I then dragged up to my apartment. And then I thought it would be nice to bring a friend some Starbucks coffee. It started to rain.

Now, if you don’t live in Austin you’d probably think it’s no big deal. But in Austin, rain is something worth stopping in the middle of the road for. The highways were clogged. The feeders, roads that run parallel to the highways, were clogged. If you didn’t know better you’d think it was Monday morning at 8:45am, but it was Saturday. Around noon. Because people here just can’t grasp the concept of rain. And so, a five minute trip took closer to 15.

And so, when I got home, all I wanted to do was bury my head under the pillows.

 

