Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


Every once in a while you come across something that you think you would never want to eat but end up having it and, while it wasn’t very good, turns out to be something you enjoy having every once in a while. Even if you don’t want to admit it.

So I was making a “Tater Tot Casserole” one day, using a modified Duggar’s recipe, when I started wondering how a famous TV chef might make a classy version.

The Duggar’s recipe contains: ground turkey, Cream of Mushroom soup, Cream of Chicken soup, evaporated milk, and frozen tater tots.

Replacing the ground turkey with something else, maybe ground lamb, would be a good start. And then add some vegetables for color. Replace the condensed soup with a savory gravy would definitely make it upscale. And replace those tots with, I don’t know, mashed potatoes?

And that’s when it hit me: There already was a gourmet version of Tater Tot Casserole. It’s called a Shepherd’s Pie. It’s been around forever. What I was eating was a de-evolution of that. I was eating a white trash Shepherd’s Pie. The only way it could be lower class would be to make it with ground possum meat. The worst part is, it’s not that bad.

The other day I took my jeans out of the dryer and put them on, along with my belt. As I was walking around the apartment I noticed that I had to continually pull my pants up. I checked my belt thinking that I didn’t tighten it as far as I usually do, but it was already on the last hole. Normally when jeans come out of the dryer they’re quite tight around the waist. So I weighed myself and saw that I was still, somehow, losing weight.

I think it has to do with getting my head around the idea that I’m not a slave to anyone or time. That I don’t have to eat everything that I make at one time because if I put it in the fridge it will still be there tomorrow. I don’t have to have dinner with other people so I can eat when I’m hungry and not just because it’s time for dinner.

Another thing I’ve noticed, which may be related to my food epiphany, is that I seem to be a more restful sleeper. It used to be that if I made my bed and went to sleep when I woke up the bed would be a wreck — pillows on the floor, sheets wadded up on one side of the bed, and the fitted sheet unattached to the corners. I recently changed the bedding and had everything neat. Two pillows, fitted sheet put on properly (for a change), regular sheet pulled up to the pillows, and the comforter folded up length-wise and placed at the foot of the bed. I don’t sleep under covers (a habit picked up from sleeping with a cover thief) so I just lay on top of everything. When I wake in the mornings, now, everything is still in place. Even the comforter, which is the most surprising thing considering it’s right at the foot of the bed.

I’m taking this as a good sign.

There’s a lot of music that I’ve heard about but never listened to, for whatever reason. Heavy metal from certain bands like Iron Maiden, or the so-called Satanic Black Death Heavy Metal from Slayer. So, having nothing better to do, I put some Iron Maiden and Slayer on the car radio.

I went out to have coffee with a friend the other night and stopped for gas. I cruised up next to a pump, with Slayer blasting from the stereo, next to a fairly well dressed guy filling up his BMW.

It struck me, then, that at 43 it’s doubtful that I’ll be changing much. That if I were to be visited by nieces and nephews, or grand nephews and nieces, that I won’t be playing big band music on the radio. Instead, I’ll be playing New Model Army or Dead Kennedys or something from a faux-wood covered, hand cranked CD player. I wonder what my funeral would be like if I requested that a tape-loop of Stormtroopers of Death, NoMeansNo, and other oddball bands be played.

I always thought it was mandatory that, at a certain age, you started listening to Muzak versions of popular hits. I remember walking through grocery stores and listening to the Muzak system and wondering how anyone could find it enjoyable. The grocery store I go to now, though, has played The Cure, Love & Rockets, Elton John, The Cars, B-52s and God knows how many other things. I’m totally OK with that.

It’s no secret that I like building computers. I like taking all the bits and putting them together into something that works. Usually works. I’m feeling that itch to build another box. I’m also getting the itch to figure out which operating system I want to use as a main OS. Unfortunately, it’s hard to decide.

What I would like to do is have two computers: one running Windows and one running Linux. At the same time. So I can switch between them.

But I don’t want to give up my dual monitors and dual monitor switch boxes are crazy expensive. And, really, I want three monitors. Because I’m crazy, too. I don’t know if they make a switch box that supports three DVI monitors, but if they do it’s probably close to $1,000.

So, what to do?

 

 

