Tags

, ,


I hate washing sheets. It’s not the actual washing that I don’t like, it’s the putting the sheet back on the bed. Especially fitted sheets. If they weren’t fitted I could just slap them on the bed and be done with it. It’s not like I have a head nurse or sergeant to impress. The first thing I do is look for the little tag. Then I stand there trying to remember if the tag goes on the bottom right or bottom left. Then I try and see which sides are longer. Then I give up and just try and get the corners done. Everything goes fine until the last corner. Pull it up, pull it over the corner, and done! Turn around and the opposite corner has come off. Okay. Go over to that corner and put it back. Done! No, another corner has come off. If you ever wanted to know what it was like being in a 1920s slapstick comedy short, now you have that experience. It’s around this point that I start to realize that I have the short sides of the sheets on the long sides of the bed. This is wrong and goes against the laws of physics. But that’s not going to stop me from trying because I’ll be damned if I’m going to start over. I managed to get the sheets on but this morning when I woke up all four corners had become unhinged. But that’s all right; so had I.

I like my therapist. I think she’s great. She’s got a nice way of making me think I’m controlling the session and then she goes and throws me a curve ball. There is one thing we don’t see eye to eye on, though. It’s a part of the “cognitive disfunctions” thing. Actually, there are a few on the list that I know use often, but in my defense they kind of work.

One is “Catastrophizing.” This is where a person concentrates on all the bad things that can happen in a given situation. I use this constantly, but not as a reason not to do something. Rather, I categorize everything that could possibly go wrong so that I have some sort of plan if it happens. In my life I’ve noticed that if I can figure out everything that can possibly go wrong, then nothing bad happens. It’s just the way it is.

Another one is what my therapist calls “mind reading.” I’m not going to claim that I have the power to read the minds of people but I am very good at predicting behaviors. Uncannily good. I use it when driving, frequently. For instance, there are times when I’ll be stuck behind someone not going the speed limit. I’ll pull into another lane and speed up enough so that the person sees that I’m going to pass. Then I just stay there because I know the other person is going to speed up (a lot) and then I just move back to the lane. I had no intention of passing but I knew the other person would speed up once he realized I was in a position to pass. I can usually tell who’s going to cross 12 lanes of traffic to get to an exit ramp. I just know these things. As much as I’d like to attribute it to the occult forces of driving, I think it’s more likely that the old brain is working in the background and making conclusions.

And I’ve never gotten into a traffic accident, so take it as you will.

After reading through the lists of cognitive disorders, though, I’d be flabbergasted if there was even one person in the world who didn’t exhibit as least one of those behaviors at least once in their lives.

And that’s my problem with psychology and psychiatry in general. I think it’s hard, if not impossible, to pigeonhole people into certain categories according to mental illness. Then again, I also believe that everyone is OCD in some way, however minor.

Oh, I forgot. I have to figure out things I’ve succeeded in. That’s gonna be a toughie.

Nanotechnology. It’s no secret that I love the idea of it, especially if you’re going to use Feynman’s or Drexler’s vision of it. The day when I can remove nanotechnology from the “Science Fiction” banner to the “Modern Technology” banner will be a huge day.

For anyone who’s lost, just imagine a bunch of tiny, molecule-sized, robots that can move around and connect other molecules together. As a simple example, let’s say you had a lump of carbon, like a charcoal briquette, and you really wanted a big diamond. You’d instruct your little robots to re-align the carbon atoms until you got yourself a diamond. Of course it’s not that simple, but as consumers we don’t care how things work just as long as they do.

I still think that having something like this, or, more unlikely a Star Trek style replicator, it would change human society completely.

I’m not sure why I started thinking about this today. It probably has to do with all the Star Trek I’ve been watching, lately. And because I’d really like a replicator just so I could stop cooking and washing dishes.

Well, I signed the papers for a new job today. All I have to do is pass a drug test, background check, and show up to work. Being me, though, I won’t consider myself actually employed until I do show up for work. The second day. It’s all foolish, of course. I don’t do drugs and, as far as I know, my background is as clean as a whistle. There’s just that tiny part in the back of the end that waits for a shoe to drop. Like a budget being suddenly cut.

So I’ll continue to write these things. I’m not sure how prolific I’ll be once I’m busy full time, though.

 

