Tags

, , , ,


Last night I was chatting with a friend and he needed a few files from me. I had a choice of finding one of those free file transfer things or signing up for DropBox or setting up my own FTP server to use for a few minutes. The most difficult of these would have been setting up an FTP server since it’s one of the things I’d never done before.

So, of course, I set up the FTP server. It took me around fifteen minutes to go from nothing to a fully functional server with a virtual user.

Despite the titles of all these blogs having “Unemployed” in them I don’t really talk about being unemployed. Since we’re up to day fifty-five maybe it’s time to talk about it a bit.

unemployed-banner

The reason why I’m jobless is because the last company I worked for closed down the office here in town. They wanted me to relocate to a different state but I didn’t feel like it was a good time for that. In reality, it would have been very difficult to pull off. For starters, it would have taken over a day to drive to this new state (indeed, driving anywhere out of Texas would take more than a day in most directions). I don’t think I’d be able to find a motel that would let me bring in two noisy birds and a cat and there’s no way I would leave them out in a closed up car for the night. So, right there, that’s a deal breaker.

The thing is, I’m good at what I do. I’m good at just about everything I set my mind to doing. This isn’t just chest thumping, it’s just the way it is. When it comes to computers there just isn’t anything that’s so difficult that I can’t get a handle on it within a few minutes. Any time a company decides to not hire me it’s really their loss. They could have had a worker that will do what he’s told to do, will learn to do anything that’s thrown at him, will work hard and put in extra time whenever it’s needed and be loyal to that company. That’s all me.

But it’s not just computers. I’m at my best when I’m solving problems or learning something new. I eat it up and I don’t slow down until I have mastered what I’m doing to the point where I could do it with my eyes closed.

And, I believe, I can write.

Is it disappointing not to get a job? Sure it is. But I keep my chin up because I know there’s something out there and I just have to wait for the rest of the world to align for the next good thing to happen. And it will because it always does. That doesn’t mean I can just sit back and wait, though, because I have no way of knowing when the universe is ready to pull me back into service. I suspect, though, it’ll be somewhere around November 11th because that’s when Skyrim will be released.

Keeping that chin up is not an easy thing, believe me. I’ve always heard that the three most stressful things you can go through are: death of a spouse/family member, loss of a job, and changing residences. If that’s the case, then I’ve hit the Trifecta of Stress. Indeed, according to the Holmes and Rahe Stress Scale, I’m at 421 points. Technically, the scale maxes out at 300. I think my score should be higher, though, because there are other influences on my life that aren’t covered by the Holmes and Rahe scale.

Despite this, I don’t spend my day in bed lamenting my life. I try and keep busy with different things. I’ve started reading books again, teaching myself various programming things, taking care of my pets, sometimes going out for walks and taking pictures. I do spend a lot of time indoors and watching old TV shows, but it also makes me feel a bit better. Oh, and searching for jobs.

Life is full of surprises, both good and bad. I can say this because I’ve been through both; I have the right. I also have the right to say that there’s no sense in giving up or giving in. On the river of life you’ll hit the rapids, maybe even go over the falls, but you’ll also sail the placid, peaceful, spots. That is the nature of all things.

IMG_1589

