Tags

, , , , , ,


I was never interested in cooking until I was in my twenties and living semi-alone. I got tired of eating frozen food and simple things. Cooking shows became interesting and I would leave one of the food channels on the TV while I did other things and absorb information subconsciously. What kind of utensils I used started to become important. I became fairly competent in cooking with little resources, such as not having a kitchen.

Later in life I became a fair hand with it. I could whip up a meal with whatever I had in the fridge and it would be edible, if not actually good. I started trying new things and looking around for recipes to try out.

Cooking served me well for several years and I think I did a good job, overall. I’m sure some meals weren’t as good as others but I never had anyone refuse what I made. What’s really great is when you make something that you’re not sure anyone will like and it turns out everyone wants seconds on it. Especially when it’s a small child, who are finicky by nature.

On a more personal note, cooking something and having it come out perfectly is cause for doing a touchdown shuffle. Once I made chicken parmesan and fried the chicken cutlets perfectly. They weren’t soggy, weren’t burnt, just a perfect golden brown. It was a pity that there was only one of the kids home for dinner that night, but it was an awesome feeling just knowing that I had done it right.

My biggest problem with cooking is burns. My forearms have been scarred up, although not permanently, just from stupidity. Most burns come from lasagna. Specifically, not pulling out the oven rack to lift up the dish, but just lifting it straight in the oven. I lift up and my forearms hit the top of the very hot oven. I’ve also been known to pick up the handles of hot pans. I’m just weird that way. At least I rarely cut myself when slicing things.

These days I can’t be bothered with cooking. If it isn’t something I can shove in an oven for an hour or so, or microwave, or put in a Crock Pot then I don’t want to make it. I don’t even care too much about seasoning. As long as I can eat it I’m fine with it. My favorite types of dishes I lovingly call “Yoda Food.”

Anything that can be cooked in a pot on a stove top and, for preference, ends up being a brown color is “Yoda Food” to me. Usually simple to make, can be eaten in a bowl hunched up in front of the computer or TV, and hopefully tastes good enough to eat. It doesn’t have to look pretty, though. In fact, it’s sort of a requirement that it doesn’t look appetizing. Luckily, I only make dishes like that for myself.

Someday, perhaps, I’ll get the cooking bug again. I may even try making Scotch Eggs again, if my heart still works. But for now I’ll stay content with my baked chicken breasts.

 

 


ds9_banner

I’m into the second season of Deep Space Nine and I’m a little disappointed that I haven’t found the “technobabble” word. For some reason, DS9 wasn’t as high a priority for me as the other “Star Trek” shows, so most of these episodes are new to me. Especially with my selectively poor memory. I find them enjoyable, so far, and haven’t seen a lot of discrepancies. But it’s only one and half seasons out of seven; there’s still time.

And, if you indulge me for being obsessed with this, why does everyone always look surprised when something weird happens? Alternate universes, mirror universes, colliding dimensions, people being shunted to a different wavelength, people being combined into one entity, people being separated into different individuals, time paradoxes, time fluxes, time distortions, luck spheres, and a whole host of other things are surely in the Starfleet logs. But when yet another hologram becomes self-aware and runs amok nobody understands how it happened and they certainly don’t take steps to make sure it doesn’t happen again.


Do you remember those far away days when you turned something on and it was on, ready to go? I do. Turn on a radio and it played music. Turn on the TV and you see images. Turn on your computer and it sits there happily with a “Ready” prompt. Turn on your game console and you were ready to play a game. No more, though. Now it’s a matter of turning something on and waiting for it to go through it’s boot up procedure. I even have to wait for my car radio to do a file scan before it will do anything useful. People tend to think that because I’ve been involved with computers and video games most of my life that I’m all for technology. I am, kind of, but I don’t think computers should be in everything. It increases the complexity and the more complex things become the higher the chance that something will go wrong. Does a toaster really need a computer in it? I really don’t think so. I even question putting complex computer systems in car engines. Sure, it helps with engine efficiency and safety but at the cost of being affordable and easy to fix. I suppose that’s the cost of progress.


Scorpio_banner

My horoscope seems a bit off lately. I got this in my email this morning:

“If you thought you were infatuated yesterday, you won’t believe how much those feelings will have grown by the time you open your eyes today. Before you dash off to that Elvis chapel in Vegas, make sure you’re sure.”

This is unusual for two reasons: First, I never subscribed to get a horoscope. Second, I didn’t see anyone yesterday except for my therapist, and I think she’d have a real big problem if I tried to steal her off to a wedding chapel of any kind. I suspect she would think it would ruin our professional relationship and be viewed as overstepping some boundaries.

The beauty of horoscopes is that you ignore the incorrect or bad things and just feel good about the happy words.

On second thought, there’s probably a bajillion sites on the web that have different horoscopes. It might be a good idea to go to a whole bunch of them and just take all the good ones. Yes, I will outsmart the occult forces of the universe.


If you are one those people that are working their “dream job,” I envy you. I’ve never had a “dream job” but I always enjoyed the employment I did have. If the job itself didn’t give me satisfaction then the people I worked with most certainly did. I think I’ve only ever had one job that I just didn’t want to go to in the morning, and that was a long, long time ago. I consider myself lucky in that respect.

