Tags

, , , , , , ,


I know that I shouldn’t be spending close to $5.00 on a cup of coffee at Starbucks, but sometimes it’s good just to get dressed up in my Sunday finest, take a drive up the highway, get a pumpkin spice latte and sit outside in front of the grocery store, gazing out over the parking lot. I feel it’s good to let my mind wander and watch the large fluffy clouds drift over the power lines. I find it entertaining when the birds come bouncing by the table looking for a cricket to eat. Say what you will about birds, but if I were tasked with making a nest with bits of straw and just my mouth, well, I’d make a hash of it.

One piece of sage advice that I  have never learned to follow is: Never rile up a cat just before bed. It’s always nice to play with your cat but if you value your toes you really shouldn’t do it before sliding under the covers. Especially if the riled up cat is hiding underneath them, waiting for something to attack.

I woke up early, as I usually did. I lay there in the dark, watching her sleep. She looked beautiful and innocent in the moonlight, curled up beneath the comforter. Anything I may have been angry about melted away in those early morning hours. I just wanted to hold her, stroke her hair, tell her I love her, and that everything would be all right. That would wake her, though. What she needed was sleep; that was when she was free of doubt, free of the pain that ate away at her soul when she was awake.

A while back I read a book about time. I don’t remember the title and I don’t remember the author, but it had to do with all time having happened already. We “lived” because our consciousness “moved” through time, much like if we were the light in the projector and time was the film streaming across it. I thought about this, because I’m a thinker, and I think time can be like a highway. Route 80, for instance, does not run from East to West. It does not run from West to East. It doesn’t run at all, it just sits there. The vehicles on the road determines how the highway is perceived. If you travel from East to West you encounter towns in a different order, see different billboards, and visit different truck stop restrooms than if you were travelling from West to East. Where you enter the highway, where you get off, and what direction you travel in determines how you perceive the trip. The trick, of course, is figuring out how to drive backwards on a busy freeway or, at least, swinging a U-turn.

