Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


You can buy an apple corer. It’s round with blades radiating from the center, which is a circle. This allows you to push down and slice the apple into segments and off  the core.

You can also buy a frozen pizza, most of which are not pre-sliced and generally come in the same size.

So why not make a frozen pizza slicer like an apple corer? Just place it over the pizza and push down – presto! A perfectly sliced pizza. Without the round middle part, of course. It would be even neater if you could arrange the blades so some slices would be really big while leaving other slices really small. It would be like having the Pizza Hut experience at home.

I haven’t kept up with the world of dog food, but I have to wonder about the people who make cat food. First of all, how does anyone know if a pet food flavor is “new & improved?” I don’t know about other cats, but my cat can like something just fine one day and then snub it the next. How, exactly, do they test for if a flavor has improved?

I also wonder who they’re marketing for. White Meat Chicken Tuscany and Wild Long Grain Rice with Garden Greens in a Savory Sauce? I want some of that. It sounds a lot better than “Count Chocula in a bowl of 2%.” And they make it look real good on the can. Why? My cat doesn’t look at the can. He doesn’t even go shopping with me. And as long as it isn’t pâté he’ll probably eat it. At least once. I suppose they’re marketing to the human who buys the stuff, hoping that when they open the can it won’t look like a glob of minced up chicken livers, even though it will. And smell like it. Strangely enough, Junior doesn’t like fish and reading “Ocean Whitefish” on anything makes me feel queasy. I’m not sure why, but it may have something to do with knowing what a “Coney Island White Fish” is.

WordPress tells me that I’ve had 88,613 views since I started this blog. My busiest day was on November 5, 2008. I don’t even know why because I didn’t post anything on that day. Suffice to say, I’ve never come close to approaching that number since then. So if you feel like helping me out and think I’m worth it, don’t forget to share with  your friends and press those buttons at the bottom of the page. I don’t know what they do, but surely it couldn’t hurt?

Back in the Old Days, the computer I spent the most amount of time on was an Atari 400 and, later, an Atari 130XE. One of the features of the Atari 8-bit series of computers was that when you used the keyboard an electronic “click” would come through the TV speaker. Back then quite a few people went through the minimal trouble of turning that click off. I always found it somewhat comforting. I think that’s part of the reason why I use a mechanical keyboard now, so that I can actually hear the keys. In addition, a piece of software that I use for writing is WriteMonkey, which has the feature of playing typewriter sounds when you type. I totally enjoy that, too, and find it jarring when I switch from WriteMonkey to another application that doesn’t make clicky noises. I think if someone wrote a program that would always play sounds when I used the keyboard I would use it a lot. An added bonus would be something that played a lot of noises when the hard drive is accessed but that’s probably asking for too much.

And that’s a wrap for this Thursday evening. Good night and have a pleasant tomorrow.

