Tags

, , , , , ,


Now that I’m unemployed I have plenty of times to play games. To be honest, I don’t play a lot of games these days. As I get older, I guess, I don’t have much interest. There are a couple of games that I do enjoy and they all appear to come from Bethesda: Morrowind (even now), Oblivion, Falout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas.

It’s not so much that they came from Bethesda, but more because they make the games I like to play. Namely, immersive role playing games. I’ve always enjoyed them. Telengard, Dunzhin, Kaiv, Alternate Reality, Temple of Apshai… The list goes on.

Not too long ago Bethesda bought up iD, makers of Castle Wolfenstien (not the original), Doom and Quake. Their newest game, Rage, looked pretty good so I shut down all the media influx about it so that I could be surprised when I got it. I wasn’t expecting an RPG like the Fallout series because iD games are essentially shooters. Run around, kill things, find keys to  unlock doors, etc. I don’t have a problem with that.

Rage was released today. I don’t know about the console side, but there were a number of PC people that had all kinds of issues. AMD (ATI) cards seem to have the most issues, but SLI is causing all sorts of problems for both manufacturers.

Luckily, I haven’t had any problems. The game runs fine on my computer. The only problem is that I don’t care for it all that much.

It’s gorgeous, though. If Fallout 3 or New Vegas looked like this I think I’d black out my windows and attach a cardboard device to cut out all outside interferences with the real world and just live there.

And today I went to Friendship Park in Granger, TX. Lake Granger is incredibly low. I snapped a few photos, anyway. This time I managed to get some wildlife: birds, wasp, birds and a dead fish. Overall, not particularly pleased with the shots but there are a couple I’m happy with.

 

The lake just wasn’t a very interesting place. Not for me, anyway. I didn’t stay there very long. Hopefully I can find a more entertaining place.

