Tags

, , , , , , ,


What a day of changes. Unfortunately, they were only online. Both Facebook and Google+ decided to make changes.

Facebook’s changes seem to be causing the most commotion. Indeed, they are so confusing that I’m not even sure what has changed, besides being a lot more cluttered with the sidebar junk. The newsfeed has changed so much that, at this early hour, I can’t deal with it and have shut down my brain.

Google+ changed their “Sparks” function to make it a lot less friendly. I’m not sure what they were thinking there, either. I used Sparks as a kind of saved search for news about different things. Now I have to click all over the place to get just the news I’m looking for and not all my posts about those subjects.

But that’s the way of the Internet. Keep mucking around with things that work until they become a lumbering huge mess of changes. Facebook used to be simple and straight forward. Settings were easy to find and change. Google, too, was simple. But the constant need for changes without function will change that for everyone.

I’ve been playing a bit of “Lonesome Road” and, as usual, I’m quite happy with it. I haven’t seen too many negative things about it on the Internet, either, which is surprising. Usually people have to complain about everything just for the sake of complaining. The only complaint I have is roaming through ruined buildings at a weird tilt. It’s like being on the 1960s Batman TV show.

For a lark, I installed the developers preview of Windows 8 on VirtualBox. I can’t say that I like it. I mean, I could, but I’d be fibbing. There’s just something weird about having a tablet OS running on a desktop. The “home” screen needs to scroll back and forth if it doesn’t fit on the screen. I don’t like the idea of having to get all “Metro” apps from Microsoft, either. Or the potential problems of dual booting Linux. I think, then, that I’ll be holding on to Windows 7 until games will no longer work on it. I guess this is as good as any reason to switch to Linux full-time.

Yes, there was a time when I would have buried any copies of Linux I could find in the backyard. A time when doing something relatively simple would give me, literally, a headache. But it’s gotten better. A lot easier to deal with. It’s just a shame about the games.

I’m happy to report that I have not watched any movies or TV shows today. I haven’t slept, either. Not that it means my day was productive. Far from it. Unfortunately, that means I don’t have any more anti-Janeway things to write about. There’s always tomorrow, though. Possibly.

After monitoring the Internet I’ve come to the conclusion that there are two types of people in this world: those who hate the changes Facebook made this morning, and those who hate the people who hate the changes. While the changes that don’t affect me all that much, aside from confusing me, I have to side with the people who hate the changes.

One of the big arguments for “just shutting the Hell up” is that Facebook is free. This is technically true, but not really. You pay for it with your time and patronage. If you disagree with this then answer this question: If Facebook was only ever used by Zuckerman, his mom, and a couple of friends, where would Facebook be today? If you answer anything other than “Facewhat?” you’re fooling yourself. The population is what makes Facebook what it is. If only five people were ever on Facebook then no one would advertise on it.

As it is, even if, say six thousand people decide to ditch Facebook in favor of Google+, it won’t even make a dent in the Facebook population. For myself, I’d be more than happy to stop using it but I have a lot of family and friends who use it who won’t be switching to anything else. So, I’ll stay with it but continue to question the useless changes they make just for the sake of making changes.

That’s the Internet for you, though.

