Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Dear Daily Diary,

I’m more than happy to recount my dreams when I can remember them, which is rare. Usually, I don’t remember dreams unless I wake up and stay up for a little while and then go back to sleep. Unlike a lot of people, though, I don’t think dreams are easily interpretable. I don’t believe that there are wide archetypes for dreams; instead, I think they are very personal images and thoughts. Do I think they have meaning? I’m sure they do, to the dreamer.

For instance, I had a dream recently about sudden water leakages and an onslaught of kittens. My therapist thought that having water leaks springing up all over the place may mean something along the lines of having a host of small troubles popping up, one after another. I can’t disagree with that because it sounds rational, but I think it has more to do with the fact that two of my biggest fears right now are that the hot water heater is going to go and that (for no real reason) my washing machine will leak. Both of these mean a lot of damage to the apartments below me, which is something I really don’t want to deal with. Especially after having seen what happened to some apartments behind me when the water line to the sprinkler system broke this past winter. Which, coincidently, is when I realized that if there was a real emergency around here I’d be totally screwed with getting my pets out in a hurry.

The kitten part, I’m sure, was my mind interpreting Junior’s attempts to wake me up because he was hungry. For those keeping track of such things, this morning his method was to “slap” my face. I woke up when he still had a paw on my cheek.

Today marks one week since my job ended. Sort of. Actually, one week ago today was my last day. I guess that’s actually six days and I’ve screwed up my entire numbering system by starting a day early. It makes no difference, I suppose.

This morning was spent updating my KDE 4 installation. I love KDE 4 and wish I could use it as my default working environment. Maybe one day. Maybe one day I’ll have two computers and can run Windows and Linux simultaneously. Currently I don’t have the desk space for that. Also, I’ve gotten used to having two monitors so having another computer means fitting two more monitors on my desk. And using up two more electrical outlets. I’m not sure that’s feasible. I did fix my new kernel not booting but, annoyingly, now I can’t read DVDs because it says there’s no file system support. This is odd because I’ve got all the CD and DVD file systems compiled into the kernel. No matter.

I need to mail some things today. I should do it before the US Postal Service gets shut down. This means I will have to actually leave my apartment. I suppose I should shower, shave, get dressed, and take the tissue boxes off my feet. I’m just hoping I don’t turn to ash when sunlight hits me.

I found a couple of new parks that I may like to visit. Perhaps I’ll take some time to check them out. These parks are getting further and further away, though. I’ll try to remember to bring my camera.

Speaking of cameras, I think I need a better one. Granted, I don’t think of myself as much of a photographer but my point and shoot has some issues with low light and that’s kind of when I like to take pictures. Unfortunately, cameras, good ones, are expensive. However, I have a birthday coming up and, supposedly ‘free’ money coming my way.

One thing I wanted to get is a satchel. Something that doesn’t look too much like a purse but still able to fit a camera and my journal. The one I want, though, is expensive. Nearly as much as a digital SLR. Then again, I want to update my computer for no good reason. I found a new motherboard I want and I’m quite liking the idea of having a six core AMD processor. Mostly because it’ll be really handy with updating my KDE 4 installation. Especially if I pair it with a couple of SSDs.

When I get confused like this I email my friend Shane, who I think is an awesome photographer, and pester him about what he thinks is a good beginner DSLR. I don’t know how many times I’ve done that but I think he may have a script that just auto-replies now.

I have a couple of months to figure out what I want to do and, really, it all depends on if I have a job by then. If I have a job I may just go bonkers and get everything I want in one swell foop.

It’s time to get busy and try and mail this stuff off. Hopefully I can find those stamps.

In fact, I did not find my stamps. Despite putting them in the same place every time I use them they decided to not be where they should be. But that’s all right, neither was my checkbook. In the end, I managed and posted the mail.

Then I decided to go to Overlook Park in Belton, TX. It took nearly an hour to get there and, when I did, there was a “Do Not Enter” sign on the entrance. Bright blue water beckoned from the distance, but, since it had the sign, I decided to fallback to Chalk Ridge Falls Park right down the street.

And I was somewhat disappointed. My first view was of a puddle. Walking further I saw more water and it was quite green. Still, I had to make due with the best of the situation so I walked mightily forward, towards the beckoning trees and shadows.

One of the things I noticed about this park is that there was garbage everywhere. On the paths, in the water, on the ground. Everywhere. Very pathetic. There was also the graffiti.

Now, I know there are people that hate the sight of graffiti. There are also people who consider some graffiti, at least, to be a valid art form which is great until you try to sell the side of a building you don’t own to a multi-millionaire with odd tastes. But, for the most part, if graffiti isn’t artistic or thought provoking it’s generally frowned upon. But consider this: if the residents of, say, Pompeii were upstanding perfect citizens who did not scrawl graffiti and dirty pictures everywhere, how much would we really know about them? One mans garbage is another mans treasure, especially if that man is an archeologist.  So, while neither you nor I may give a hoot if Lara “hearts” Miguel, a future generation may be very interested. In four hundred or even a thousand years from now someone may be very interested in this couple. Stories may be written about their eternal love, stories that may rival other timeless stories of forbidden love: Romeo and Juliet, Lancelot and Guinevere, Diane and Sam. Let’s be frank, though, and agree that even if Lara and Miguel had “hooked up” in the forest, chances are good they never got married and, if they did, they are almost surely divorced by now. So, anyway, if you see graffiti and are disgusted by it, just remember that it is a part of history and culture that will confuse archeology students millennia from now.

To make a long story shorter, I came home. Well, I stopped at Starbucks for a pumpkin spice latte first because nothing says “relax after a hot day of walking around in the sun and getting all sweaty like sitting out in the sun with a hot cup of latte.” Then I I got home, fed the animals, fed myself, and uploaded my many photos to Facebook and Google+. I’m kind of tired.

