Tags

, , , , , ,


So I have a Netflix account now.  Actually, I’ve had it for a couple of months and I have to say that if Hulu is the slide that started the downward spiral of having an anti-life, then Netflix is the butter that greases that slide.

I’ve probably mentioned that I don’t subscribe to regular television.  Not cable, or satellite, or fiber optic.  I haven’t, for the last few years.  On the rare occasions when I did subscribe to some kind of TV I never really had time to watch it.  At this point I don’t even have one of them digital converter boxes hooked up (I guess they’re in storage somewhere).

I get my television fix from Hulu, for the most part.  Nearly every show I have an interest in is on Hulu.  Things that aren’t, such as Undercover Boss, get forgotten about for months at a time.  When I get to work I go through my queue and catch up on my TV shows.  This has a slight downside because I only half-watch when I’m at work, but it’s when I get a chance to watch them.

Since I don’t have TV I don’t get a chance to see promos for new shows.  When my queue is caught up I would hunt around Hulu for new shows to watch.  This has brought up the problem of me finding a show I really like, watching all the back episodes, and waiting for new episodes to start up only to find out that the show was cancelled.  Four years ago.

At some point I decided that I’d like to watch more movies so I subscribed to Netflix.  Hulu, and I’m being diplomatic here, has incredibly crap movies. 

Are you thinking that I’m now catching up on the oodles of movies I’ve missed in the last ten years?  You’re wrong.  I’m watching more and more TV shows.  I just finished a series and I don’t even remember what it was.  I started watching the first season of “Saturday Night Live” with the intent of watching all 35 seasons of it.  Of course, I can’t watch SNL without looking at 30 Rock.  And I never did get into the new Battlestar Galactica because I missed a bunch of episodes.

Let’s be frank.  The rest of my life will be spent catching up on TV shows.  This is so bad that I use my secondary monitor to watch TV in full screen while using the computer for other things.  I was happy as anything when I found out that when playing Civilization V it doesn’t mess with the other monitor.  And I can move the cursor over to that monitor and change shows without messing with the game.  I don’t know if that’s by design or a bug, but I love it.  And I don’t want to play any other games because they don’t let me do that.

I think I need an intervention.

 

