Tags

, , , , , ,


There are some buildings in Austin, Texas that warrant the use of elevators. 

Many times I’m surprised at the lack of social convention that goes on around here when it comes to their use.  For example, people stand right in front of the elevator doors and start walking in, even if someone is walking out at the same moment

I worked in Manhattan for a few years and this was a habit that was quickly erased from my life.  I don’t know about anyone else’s experience, but in mine standing in front of elevator doors in New York City was akin to having a death wish.

In NYC even the elevators have rush hours.  You can have a bank of sixteen elevators and trying to get in any one of them in the mornings is an exercise in sardine canning.  Everyone tries to jam into the same car.  If they don’t make it in that one they don’t wait by the doors for it to come back, they wait for the ‘ding’ and run, as a mob, to the next door that opens.

Standing in front of an elevator in the lobby at 5 p.m. meant you were going to get trampled.

So I learned, early on, not to stand directly in front of the doors.  It meant missing out on the occasional car but, since I’m a patient person, while everyone else ran for the next ‘ding,’ I stood my ground and was first in line for the next one. 

 

