Tags

, , ,


Warning

If you are as behind the times as I am when it comes to TV and you haven’t seen any episodes of “Lost” but you plan on doing so at some point then STOP READING NOW because I’ll probably ruin it for you.

I love mysterious things.  When it comes to TV shows, movies, or books I love having a sense of mystery, of history, of lost and hidden knowledge.

The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogy, for example, kept me in wonder the entire time I read them.  It wasn’t just the story or the characters that were involving, it was also the places they went, the things they saw, and who they met that were intriguing. I wanted to know what happened to the ruins that they went through, or why the woods were evil, how did Glamdring, Orcrist and Sting end up with those Trolls?  Who the heck is Tom Bombadil, and what’s his story?

That these things are never really explained makes them bright spots for me; far brighter than if there was an explanation to go with them.  It gives the fictional world a deeper sense of existence, of history, of realism.

And this, in a roundabout way, brings me to Lost.

As with most television shows that were or are extremely popular, I missed out on the first several years of them.  Now that seasons 1-5 are on Hulu, though, I’ve been burning through them.

I’ll admit that I was enjoying the first season.  The end of one episode invariably led to me watching the next one, just to see what was going to happen. 

Strangely, it’s not the characters that kept me interested.  I don’t like the characters on Lost.  I don’t think any of them, except possibly for Claire, are even remotely likable.  Oh, and Hurley.  The others are just big bags of neurosis and criminal intent.  Also, I find it strange that everyone knows how to handle a gun and are expert Kung-Fu fighters.  I keep expecting Rose and Bernard to go on a Ninja assassination spree.

Anyway, what was keeping me hooked was the mystery.  What was the island?  Who were “the others?”  What is “the monster?”  And as season went into season, some of the questions were answered.  And the ones that weren’t suddenly became less interesting anyway.

So we know, kind of, who “the others” are: people that aren’t the castaways.  But they’re aren’t that interesting either.  Switch the viewpoint around and the castaways can be just as much “the others” as “the others” are.  They’re really the same big bags of neurosis, violence, and back stabbing. 

I’m on the fourth season now and my interest is waning.  I liked seeing mysterious glimpses of “the others.”  I liked it when old bunkers were explored.  I liked just seeing the trees move around when the “monster” came by.  Those were things that kept the mystery part alive.

Now it’s getting complicated, though, by the amount of flashbacks, flash forwards, time travel, dreams and God knows what all else.  Half the time I’m not even sure which time period I’m looking at.  I’m not a big fan of telling a story through flashbacks, which is what Lost is.  But to make it worse by throwing in flash forwards and stuff makes it hard to get into.

As more aspects of the island and the Dharma Initiative are revealed I find myself becoming more and more uninterested.  It’s just a bunch of jerks killing each other.

