Tags

, , , ,


I’m not a commercial person.  I don’t mean that I don’t like my material items, I most certainly do.  But I really hate commercials.

I don’t listen to radio because I hate listening to the commercials.  They just seem to go on and on and when the music finally hits, it’s over before you know it.  By the time I stopped listening to Howard Stern in New York I would swear that there were twenty minutes of commercials and ten minutes of show.

Some people might feel bad for me because I don’t have cable or satellite.  Don’t.  I’m perfectly happy watching my shows on Hulu.  At least there I only have to sit through one 30 second commercial; on regular TV it’s several minutes of dumb commercials.

I don’t mind so much if the commercials are kind of clever or funny.  But when they’re really stupid it totally makes me not want to buy whatever product they’re hawking.

Have you ever seen those cheapo commercials for “time saving” devices, or helpers for household chores?  They show some dimwit trying to do something really easy but they’re having a really hard time.  Like opening a cereal box, or putting a shirt in a drawer.  Then they get all frustrated and throw whatever it is they’re working with down on the ground.  I hate those.  They aren’t even believable.

Right now, though, Geico has my brain melting.  They’re the only company that has three concurrently running commercial ads that are mind numbingly  dull and stupid.  And also very overplayed.

Isn’t the gecko getting a little old by now?  Sure, it was sort of clever when it started out, but that was a long time ago.  How much more can you do with a CGI lizard?

The less said about the cavemen the better.  A commercial idea so horrendous, they got their own TV show.  Which failed miserably.  Did they give up on the whole caveman idea?  No, not at all.  They keep coming back.  If the original cavemen were that industrious we’d still be dragging our knuckles on the ground.

Finally, there’s the commercials with the stack of money with a pair of eyeballs that plays Rockwell’s, “Somebody’s Watching Me.”  I don’t even know what it’s supposed to mean, but the commercials freak me out.  If I were in the market for insurance, Geico would not be getting my money.

