Maybe 300 words a day is a bit ambitious.  It shouldn’t be.  I should be able to knock that out in a very short time.  Lately, though, I just haven’t felt up to it.  I feel a few moments of ambition and then it does out.

Last night the wife and I went to see “Julia & Julie.”  A not-quite-a-writer decides to go through Julia Child’s cookbook and prepare all the recipes in a year.  Along the way the blogs about it, becomes famous, and a billion people try their best to throw money at her.

This depresses me for a variety of reasons.  For instance, I’ve been writing blogs for a long time and nobody has tried to give me money for it.  I can’t really blame anyone for that given what my blogs are about.  Nobody really wants a book full of nonsense.  Well, maybe.  Maybe somebody would be interested in my thoughts on Pet Society and orange fluffy kittens.

Ultimately, though, I know where the problem lies: with me.  Let this be a lesson to anyone out there who is thinking of writing but “doesn’t have the time” or “doesn’t have a good idea” or has more excuses for not writing than for writing.  Don’t fall into that trap, don’t waste your life.  Maybe you won’t succeed, but if you don’t at least give it a try you’ll feel like you’ve failed because you never tried. 

Maybe it isn’t too late for me, but until I can find my focus and get myself to be serious about what I want to do I will be the one reading the books wishing I had written one, watching the movies wishing I had written one, and whatever else goes with that. 

And that’s my three hundred words for today.

