Tags

, , ,


I know, it’s a day late.  But better late than never, right?

Yesterday, June 15th, was Father’s Day.  Many people don’t like Father’s Day.  Or Mother’s Day, or Valentine’s Day or any other day.  It’s not a holiday, the logic says, it’s a commercialized pseudo-holiday.

And they would be right.  But does that make it wrong?  As a single young guy, I would say, “Hell, yeah, that makes it wrong!  Fight the Man!  Down with commercialization!” 

As an old married guy with four kids, I see it a little bit differently.  I see it as a day when everyone can reflect on what dad’s do and lolcats-funny-pictures-hey-dad just say, “thanks.”  Gifts, really, aren’t necessary.  Not that I want to give mine back, no I don’t.  But it doesn’t have to be about the gifts.

See, Hallmark might create the holiday, but they don’t make it commercial.  We do that.  We think we have to buy a new pack of golf balls, a tie, and a grilling apron that says “Kiss the Cook!”  and give it to our dads. 

Maybe a phone call or a letter or dropping by and seeing if the gutters need cleaning out would do just as well.  Or saying, “Hey dad, you know all those times you took me and my friends to do whatever and you really didn’t want to, but you did it anyway?  Well, I never said thanks so I want to say it now." 

We’re always so busy bitching and complaining about everything that we never, ever, look at the positive side of things.  Or the easy solutions.

You want to stick it to Hallmark for making these holidays just to sell greeting cards?  Then don’t buy a card; sit down and write a letter.  Write something more than, "Dear mom/dad/wife/husband, I love you, signed, me," and stop letting those sappy, crappy cards try and capture how you feel about someone.  Get off your ass and go see them, call them on the phone.  You don’t need to choose a pre-fabricated, mass-produced poem to tell someone how you feel about them. 

If you don’t want to buy a gift, or can’t afford to, they’ll know that and it won’t matter.  If you feel like you need to get them something, then do something for them.  Clean the gutters, mow the lawn, rake the leaves, push them back into their easy chairs when they try and get up to do some work and take care of it for them.

These holidays don’t have to be a curse, they can be a blessing.  A day that you stop saying, "I’ll call tomorrow" and actually call.  Use it as the final reminder, not as a looming threat to your credit card.

