Tags

, , , ,


Last night I saw Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

I was afraid to see it because I thought it would be really terrible.  Like, new Star Wars trilogy terrible.  Thankfully, it was pretty good.  Good enough that I wouldn’t mind seeing Harrison Ford take one last outing as the swashbuckling archeologist.

What I wouldn’t want to see is Shia LeBouf taking over the series.  I don’t think his character is all that great and, more importantly, the 1950’s and 1960’s are not good decades for an Indiana Jones adventure.  The beauty of the 1900’s-1940’s is that the world was a lot more mysterious and unexplored.  By 1960 there isn’t a lot of mystery left.

Going back to a Young Indiana Jones or finding an actor that sort of looks like Ford and filling in the bits between Temple of Doom and Raiders of the Lost Ark would suit me better.  I don’t know how resistant other people would be to that, though.

Eureka, the Sci-Fi channel show, will start its new season in July.  I’m looking forward to it because I love the show.  I hope they keep up the good work.  I don’t remember how the last season ended.

One of the best things about being a kid in the 1980’s was sneaking into the television room and watching movies on HBO that you weren’t supposed to be watching.  It could make any movie seem like a cinematic masterpiece just because you weren’t supposed to see.  To a teenage boy, seeing an R-Rated movie, especially if it had nudity in it, was like finding the Holy Grail.  I suppose that’s sacrilegious, but it’s true.   I don’t mention that for any particular reason, just because it sprang to mind.  Okay, for some reason I just remembered about a movie called Joysticks that was pretty horrendous.  But it seemed good at the time.  Actually, I don’t even remember how bad it was because I haven’t seen it since, oh, 1983 or so.

Did you ever write or type a word and it looked like it was spelled wrong even though you’ve used it hundreds of times before?  In the previous paragraph I used the word “weren’t” twice and it looked so totally wrong I had to look it up to make sure it was right.  Weird, huh?

Otherwise, it’s been a slow Sunday.  Oh, fashion designer Laurent is dead.  He’s quite famous, etc.

That figures.  I forgot to post this, so now it’s a Monday post.  Derr….

