Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


It’s funny how you can go through your whole life and not realize something about yourself.  For instance, once I was eating lunch with the guys at work and one of them made a comment about the way I eat.  It wasn’t, as I usually fear, about me spraying food all over the place and chewing with my mouth open, it was about how I eat one thing at a time.  For instance, if I have a plate that has meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and peas on it I will eat the peas first, then the meatloaf, then the potatoes.

I won’t eat some peas, have a bite of meatloaf, and then some

more peas, then some mashed potatoes.  I will eat all of everything then move on to the next item.

People think this is strange.

I never noticed it until it was pointed out to me. 

I don’t always eat that way, though.  There are some foods that I like to combine, such as corn and potatoes.  I’m sure there are other things, I just can’t think of them right now.

I’m not totally anal about it, though.  I won’t eat all the lettuce, then the tomatoes, and such like in a salad, for instance.  I’ll shovel all that in as it comes off the fork.  It’s just plate-bound things that I seem to do that with.

I’ve been asked how I decide the order of what I eat.  I figured it out.  If there are things on the plate that I don’t particularly like, or don’t care for, I’ll eat those first and save what I do like for last.  If I like everything on the plate then I’ll start with vegetables, then meat, then potatoes (if there are any).  I will always eat potatoes last, come to think of it.

I’m sure there are some psychiatrists out there that could have fun with this. 

 

