So it’s been a while since I wrote anything up about Gentoo, Linux, and KDE 4.  Where I got stuck at last time was that KDE4 wanted a newer version of QT4, but the QT4 in Gentoo’s Portage didn’t get along very well with KDE4.

I bit the bullet and skimmed through some articles on the Gentoo Forums and found the instructions for getting QT4 through SVN by adding another overlay.  It wasn’t quite as easy as getting KDE4 from an overlay, but hey, it worked in the end.

So I updated QT4, got KDE4 to compile, and it finished last night.  I haven’t had a chance to try it out yet, so I can’t say much.  I know I’m still getting those graphical glitches.  If no one else is getting them then I think I need to delete everything and start over.  Maybe it’s just an oddball setting, I don’t know.

I do know that if you miss having a trash can on the desktop there’s a new trash can widget in extragear-plasma that should do the trick nicely.

 

