Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Out of a fit of nostalgia I watched a couple episodes of “Buck Rogers in the 25th Century.” I found it interesting, even if no one else did. I hadn’t seen them since they originally aired in 1979. The two episodes I watched were two hours long each. So it was a lot of Buck Rogers for one night.

I had only remembered a few things about the show. Like Twiki’s “bidibidibidi”

noise (which drove everyone crazy within 15 minutes), and the fuel lines for the space ships, which are those lighted cables they use for parties now. And the tight jump suit that Erin Grey wore (some things stick with you through adolescence).

Everything else I had really forgotten. I had forgotten that the fighters looked pretty cool. I had also forgotten how much skin they showed. I had really forgotten Gil Gerard’s awesome fighting stance. It’ll probably take another 29 years to forget it.

I don’t think I realized, when I was 11, how much they took from “Battlestar Galactica” in terms of props and stock footage.

I look forward to watching the rest of the episodes. I don’t think the rest of the family understands that I need to watch these old shows and movies every once in a while. It’s a chance to re-visit my childhood, no matter how cheesy and badly acted they are.

