Tags

, , , , , ,


Today is Saturday, and we all know what that means.  Yep, this morning I updated my KDE 4 and I’m going to see if I can keep on using it for a full day.  A few things failed this morning, like kdeedu.  I couldn’t be bothered to figure out why, so I just skipped it.  However, I did emerge extragear-plasma which gives me a couple of new things on the desktop.

I also enabled the background slide show.  It’s pretty interesting but it does cause a slight delay before the next picture is loaded.  This may have something to do with the fact that my SATA drive isn’t working at full speed for some reason.  I blame the motherboard for that.

I still have compositing turned on so I’m still getting some funky video artifacts.  I’d turn it off but I just like the effects too much.  I’m willing to deal with them.

Sound and video are working properly, so I should be good to go for the day.  As long as nobody reboots the thing, we’ll be able to see how it works for the day.

I’m a bit disappointed to see that you can’t do an “Open with…” in Dolphins column view.  I was ready to switch over to that.

On a non-KDE4 related note, I’ve gotten quite used to using Windows Live Writer for writing my blogs.  I find it a lot easier to deal with pictures and stuff.  I really wish there was an application for Linux that worked the same way.  I’ve tried Drivel, but it’s not quite the same.  I think it’s the plugins that hook me, because I really like the Polaroid picture plug in available for it.  That’s what I used for the previous blog.

