Tags

, , , , , , ,


Back in the old days, when I was a kid, there were times when I didn’t have school or was too sick to go to school. My dad, being a single parent, would sometimes have to take me with him to work.

Sometimes, when it was time for lunch, we would go to Dunkin’ Donuts. On the menu was an item that read, “Bowl Bread Butter Donut.” That was a bowl of soup, a piece of bread, some butter and, most wondrous of all, a donut. And that’s what we would have. The soup changed. Sometimes it was chicken noodle, sometimes it was beef barley. That’s when I learned the importance of stirring your soup so the hot stuff at the bottom would be cycled to the top and cool off.

But that wasn’t the important bit. No, the best part was at the end when you got your donut. I would get the Bavarian Creme. My dad would get a cruller, which seemed kind of boring to me. Those were good times.

As I got older I developed a taste for Dunkin’ Donuts coffee. I loved it. When I had a friend working at a Dunkin’ Donuts I would drop in frequently for a donut and some coffee. I liked it so much I would buy a ½ pound to bring home with me. Up north, Dunkin’ Donuts were just about everywhere.

dunkin_donuts-Parsippany

This is a MapQuest map that shows my home town, Parsippany, NJ. There’s five right there and another 46 within ten miles. Wow!

dunkin_donuts-Austin

This is a Google Maps picture of how many Dunkin’ Donuts there are where I live now. One. You might be wondering why I used Google to find it and not Dunkin’ Donuts store locator. It’s because, according to the official site, there are no Dunkin’ Donuts around here. Needless to say, I haven’t had anything DD related since I moved to Texas.

Until this morning. My friend Dan brought me two honest-to-God Dunkin’ Donuts, bless his heart. They weren’t Bavarian Creme, but they were good nonetheless. I didn’t have any DD coffee, either, but such things can’t be helped. I’m just glad I was able to have what I got before I bite the dust.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

