Tags

, , ,


Tomorrow I’ll be celebrating the one week anniversary of feeling like crap.  I thought this was a cold, but it’s hanging on and giving my antibodies a good battle.  I feel run down and tired, my upper back and neck feel sore but not like a pulled muscle.  I’ve been coughing.  My sneezing has abated and my nose no longer leaks but I still can’t breathe.  In short, I feel like crap.  Sometimes I get light-headed or break out in a cold sweat, especially if I’m moving around a lot.

It’s not easy being male and sick.  For one thing, we never know what to do.  I don’t like to make a big fuss when I’m sick.  I like to lay down and sleep a lot, or just relax.  I hardly ever mention that I’m sick, and I rarely take a day off (which, I know, is bad for everyone if I start spreading something around — but if I don’t work, my family doesn’t eat).

Sometimes that’s not good enough, though.

Woman: Wow, you look horrible!  Do you have the flu or something?
Man: Nah, I’m all right.  Just a bit rundown.
Woman: Oh my God, why can’t you stop being a macho  ass and admit that you’re sick?
Man: All right! Fine!  I’m sick.  I don’t feel good.  Could you get me some OJ from the fridge, please?
Woman: You men are such babies when you’re sick.

So, you know, damned if you do and damned if you don’t.  But I’m not like that.  I’ll continue doing the same thing as every day.  It’s not the right thing to do, though, because I’m just tiring myself out and letting this bug run rampage all over my body.  Someday I’ll learn.

I watched part of Kitchen Nightmares last night.  I always enjoy watching Chef Ramsay yelling at people.  It reminds me of one of my favorite shows, Chef! with Lenny Henry.  I need to see if I can find some episodes of the BBC Kitchen Nightmares to see how the US version stacks up.

