Tags

, , , , , , ,


It’s done. It’s over. The words have been set down, the pages written, the hair torn out.

I’ve taken a few days off from doing much of anything. While I know I was never forced to participate in NaNoWriMo and I know that, technically, I could have quit anytime I wanted, it’s still a weird feeling not feeling like I have to write a lot every day. It seems a little empty.

There was no celebration, there were no ‘high-fives,’ I did not buy myself a reward or even take myself out to dinner. I just kind of sat there wondering, “What now?”

Indeed. Well, there’s a lot of directions to go in. I could go back and read through the slop that I wrote and begin to edit it into something that is not slop. I can fix any plot holes or action gaps. I can cut things out that shouldn’t be there or add things that really should be. I can, in fact, wrangle it into shape to maybe submit for publishing. Or publish it myself.

Oh, while I’m thinking about it, a couple of other things that I learned last month:

The first is: One funny event does not a novel make. Having one good idea and trying to force an entire novel around it is not always a good idea. Especially when you begin to lose interest in it.

The second is: You can start a project fretting about not having a plot, or a specific goal, or specific characters. And that’s okay because during the course of writing something these things could very well end up resolving themselves.

So what does this mean for me? What, exactly, are my plans?

I have two sci-fi ideas I would like to get down, although I think I’d like to take some time to actually prepare for them. Maybe outlining or taking notes. One would be as simple as Dungeon Crawl, I think, just because it lends itself to that kind of thing. The other is a bit more complicated. Perhaps one could wait until next November. Not in the spirit of procrastination, but because setting myself a challenge to finish something seems to work well. Hell, maybe there is more to the waitress story.

 

 

